Diagnosing and troubleshooting blower on 2005 Pontiac Vibe

Going from what you describe about this problem I think you may have purchased the wrong parts to solve the trouble. My guess is the trouble is coming from the blower relay. The contacts inside it wear over time and can cause the intermittent operation you described. You can verify that by tapping on the relay to see if that makes the blower turn on. You can locate it by turning the blower on and off and listening for the location of the relay click. You will be able to feel the vibration of the relay when you touch it to verify you have the right one.

Ok, I understand where you’re trying to go but you lost met after “blower relay,” in the first sentence. I have very little car fixing experience other than replacing a driver side mirror assembly. So, I shouldn’t try replacing the parts I purchased? I’m happy to try your suggestion but I would need more detailed SIMPLER instructions please! I really do appreciate everyone’s input!

Relays are used to switch power on to devices that require a fairly high amount of current. The blower motor uses perhaps around 8 to 12 amps. The relay is a fairly small device and if you do a web search on a Bosch relay you will be able to see what they generally look like. The blower relay should be located somewhere under the dash. They unplug from a socket so they are easy to replace. Once you find the relay try tapping on it to see if the blower will turn on. If it does then replace the relay, it has bad switch contacts inside it.

I’m searching for relays but only motor blower resistors come up. What am I doing wrong?

I'm not sure unless you are searching on this site rather than a Google search. Here is one of the over 2.5 million hits I got for Bosch relay.

http://www.amazon.com/Tyco-Relay-SPDT-Formerly-Bosch/dp/B000P61E36

Well I’m confused as to the relay’s location for the 2005 Pontiac Vibe. I don’t get any hits at all.