Join the Car Talk Community!

Discussion Rules

Welcome to the Car Talk Community!

Want to ask a question or join the discussion? Great! Join now.

Sign In Register

Is it ok to drive with two feet?

Noah from Seattle says his boyfriend drives with two feet, something that Noah contends is unsafe.

What camp to you fall into? One foot... or two?

Comments

• edited September 2009
    I have been driving automatic transmissions for aprox 55 years, and have always used both feet. I believe it is the only way to drive.
  • edited September 2009
    Every person I have ever seen that has driven an automatic with two feet has driven in the most dangerous of ways.

They would keep their foot on the brake while accelerating, which not only left their brake lights on giving others the impression that they were slowing down or getting ready to stop when they were not, but would also burn up their brakes vastly increasing the amount of brake pad replacements over the life of the car plus creating the risk of having the brake fluid boil leaving them with no brakes at all.

Also, using both feet doubles the chance that you will hit the wrong pedal in split-second emergency situations, or you will leave the gas pedal on while hitting the brake which will almost negate using the brake at all.
  • edited September 2009
    I was taught to only use the right foot. The left foot is for the clutch, if there is one. If not, shove it on the dead pedal and keep it there where it won't interfere, confusing other drivers, burning out brake light bulbs, and putting unnecessary wear on the brakes.
  • edited September 2009