Winter tires and wheels?

Ok, I am not a snob, but I bought a '99 BMW 528i. I am new to all the performance stuff so I need help. This car has “performance tires” on it. They have directional labels on them they are a continental “extreme contact” P225/15 R16 24V… the person I bought it from (a friend) told me that I would need winter tires… I went to the dealer and they said that it would cost about $1000 for new tires and new (steel) wheels. Now a few questions:

Will winter tires really be better for winter driving? (we live in NE PA and it does snow and there are icy roads) I have not ridden the car in the winter, but I want to get ready early (my friend moved to Asia, so I can not ask him easily)

The next thing is; should I get tires or tires and wheels… The dealer said that getting the tires and wheels would save money in the long run, since it was easier/cheaper to install the always-balanced wheel/tire combination rather then just installing new tires on the same wheels… He was saying that the steel wheels (he stressed that these were steel and cheep looking), so I may be not getting these at the dealer for $1000, but is it worth it to get the wheels at all? Will there be any extra wear or problem with the tires if I change the tires for summer/winter over the next 5 years?

Thanks in Advance

We’ve had two BMW 5-series and driven in conditions similar to yours. I’d strongly recommend winter tires, preferably in a narrower width if your car allows it. I’d also recommend at least 100 pounds of sand in the trunk over the axle, partly for the extra weight and partly for emergency traction if needed.

Tire Rack is a popular place to get tire and wheel packages, so make sure you price them. If you get a tire and wheel package, keep in mind that allows you to put on the winter tires yourself in a hurry if an early snowstorm comes.