Winter oil

Hello, I typically have my oil replaced with conventional (non synthetic) 10w30 in non winter seasons in my 2004 WRX wagon. I live in coastal NH.

My recommends 10w30 from -5F and up although conventional is only spec’ed. They do spec 5w30 below 0 and up.

In the winter I like to use synthetic engine oil for easy starts on those rare times it gets below 0 and less engine clatter (it a Subaru :slight_smile: )

Is 10w30 Synthetic engine oil more flow able below 0F vs say 5w30 conventional?

If I owned a vehicle with a turbocharged engine I would use nothing but synthetic.

A 5w oil will flow more easily at low temperatures than a 10w oil, regardless of oil type. I think I’d use 5w30 synthetic as a winter oil in this car.

Why not use 5W-30 Synthetic. That’s what I’ve been using for the past 15+ years.

I don’t think the synthetic oil will flow better then the conventional oil at the lower temps…but it does provide better protection in that with synthetic oil you don’t need as many additives to make it a multi-weight oil. The synthetic will be a purer oil, thus the better protection…especially at startup.

Is 10w30 Synthetic engine oil more flow able below 0F vs say 5w30 conventional?

No. The specs are the 10W and the 5W The synthetic will flow the same as any other synthetic or conventional 10W oil at 0? Conventional oil will flow the same as any other conventional or synthetic 5W oil at 0?

Of the two you list the conventional will have better flow when cold. They will both have similar flow when hot.

Personally I would re-check the specification in the owner’s manual and I would likely use 10x30 synthetic in your situation if it meets the manufactures specifications.

I agree. The turbo puts alot of stress on the internals, using synthetic is cheap insurance. Just use a 5W-30 synthetic or if you’re neurotic enough one of the really lightwight 0W-20 oils.