Why do people think cars don't use oil?

I’ve been a mechanic all my life. I’ve had probably 40 cars in my life, and I work on and around them all day long. And all my life it’s been clear that cars use engine oil and you regularly need to check the oil and add as needed.

As a young boy I remember the family pulling into the Exxon station at the end of the street and George filling the tank and opening the hood to check the oil. If it was low and I was with Mom she would say add some. If it was low and I was with Dad he would say he has some at home. The reason they checked the oil is because it was normal to have to add some from time to time. Some cars used a quart between oil changes, some cars a quart every 3 fill ups. It’s all normal.

As full service went away, it then became normal for people to open the hood themselves and check the dipstick while they were filling up. There’s a reason that every gas station has quarts of motor oil for sale, cars need it. You can buy motor oil at the grocery store, hardware store, 7-11, anywhere, and it’s cheap. But somewhere along the line people stopped checking their oil.

What brings on this rant? Today we had a first-time customer, the father of one of our regulars. He has a 2012 Subaru and he’s had it at 2 other shops, and neither one could find the oil leak he’s complaining about. I calculated he’s added 2 qts of oil over the last 3400 miles. We inspected the car and found some seepage from the timing chain cover, but nothing that requires attention. I explained to him that the engine is not leaking anything, but normal oil consumption is to be expected at 140,000 miles.

“So you’re telling me it’s burning oil and I should get rid if it.”

“No, I’m telling you the car still has several years of service left as long as you check and add oil once in a while.”

“I don’t like driving cars that I can’t trust and engines shouldn’t burn oil. I guess I should trade it in.”