Why are there two coolant temp sensors on many vehicles?

Okay, as I’ve previously mentioned, my 1994 F150 had engine issues, and I’ve replaced the engine with a rebuilt unit. In the process of swapping over the sensors, I noticed that there are TWO coolant temp sensors: one by the thermostat, that sends a signal to the dash gauge, and one on the rear of the block, that sends data to the ECU.

This seems odd; that Ford would (seemingly) needlessly spend excess cash installing two sensors, when one would do, sending data to two places. Leading me to believe it isn’t really needless: there must be some advantage to such a setup, or they wouldn’t do it. Further augmenting this belief is the fact that another car I’ve owned (1998 Contour) had just such a setup.

So…why is it like this? What is the advantage?

I’m no electrical engineer, but it seems to me that a malfunction in either the gauge itself, or the ECM itself, could feed back through the sensor and affect the operation of the other unit that’s connected to that sensor. That could compound the problem, leading to bad ECM function or an inaccurate temp gauge.

Ford doesn’t do that anymore. Apparently in 1994 the dash gauges did not communicate with the ECU via CAN so they needed one for the gauges and one for the engine control.

An explanation of what CAN is;

Later Fords have “smart” dashboards with CAN so they can share sensors.

That’s technology fer ya. In 1994 the computers weren’t “smart” enough. Nowadays you will NOT find two coolant sensors as the gauge is driven by the PCM, or maybe the BCM. That 23 year old computer is archaic compared to even ones from 10-15 years ago. It’s like the difference between the old Atari and Playstation4.

Yeah GM did that too. You had to be very careful with the description to get the right one.