Who's right (first time buyer)

I am a college student who’s major is electrical engineering. I am a first time buyer and I was wondering who right me or my father. My dream car is a 1966 or 67 Ford Mustang GT Coupe and I want that to be my first car. My father wants me to get something midsize and newer model like a honda. I like older cars because they are made out of real metal and sturdier but my father wants me to get something dependable. Remember that college students don’t have much money so maintenance and other expense are a major factor. Who’s right me or my father. P.S. I don’t mind driving a “bucket”

“Right” in what way?

You will be far safer and far less broke with your father’s choice. Cars of the era you’re considering tended to disintegrate in high-speed crashes, despite being made out of “real metal”.

Dependable, reliable, easy parts availability and easy to repair at your age and financial situation should win out over a Mustang GT. That leads down to Corolla, Civic, Elantra, or some mid size car, not Mustang GT. After you are richer, you can consider a 67 Mustang GT. They are generally restored, eat fuel out the kazoo, and parts availability may be an issue.

Your Dad’s right, but if it’s your own money do what you want. I assume you will be doing all of the maintenance and repairs yourself. You will get plenty of practice if you can find the parts. Sometimes my 69 and 71 Buicks could go a month or two without a repair and that was in 1980.

Save the Mustang until you make your first million.

Ed B.

It’s a toss-up IMHO. The older cars may require some maintenance type items (points, condenser, etc.) than a late model but on the other hand an older car is ABC simple to maintain and much cheaper.

As an example, price a distributor cap and plug wires for a 67 Mustang against a set of plug wires only for an 08 Mustang and you’ll see what I mean.