Who is right? To brake or not to brake

I have a disagreement with my father-in-law and I am hoping you all can help…
I have a 2004 Mazda Miata 6speed. I park it in my Father-in-law’s garage in the winter for safe keeping. He decided to take it out for a ride to give it a little action in these long winter months and had difficulty releasing the emergency brake. He claimed it was frozen, and that he had difficulty getting it to release. He also said that the only time I should put the emergency brake on is if I am parking on a hill. I disagree…first of all, I do not believe the brake was frozen. It must be lifted up to release it and I doubt he did that. I have been driving standard transmission cars for almost thirty years, and I always put the emergency brake (parking brake) whenever it is parked.
Who is right?

probably correct

Normally I would too, but if it is to be parked in a garage for storage in the winter, I would not leave it on because it can rust and freeze, making it difficult to impossible to release later.

But for everyday driving, then yes, use it when you park.

I long ago learned that it’s best to ‘don’t sweat the small stuff’ and in that situation it might be worthwhile to not sweat the difference of opinion. And I am sure some of the ‘seasoned’ husbands here have some more poignant metaphors that are fitting to your situation. And honestly, I agree with him on the lack of necessity for applying the brake at that time. Also, you may be able to pull that brake up so tightly that your FiL has trouble disengaging it and he chooses to say it was ‘frozen’ to protect his ego. Hopefully you will enjoy jumping in a roadster for a joy ride when you are his age. Maybe it will all make sense then. Until then try not to let yourself become entangled in a war of egos with in-laws. No one wins and everyone loses.