Which car should I buy next?

I have a 2001 Subaru Outback -AWD - and love it. But its time to replace it with something a bit larger so we can take drive trips in it.

I am looking at a 2012 highlander 4 WD - will it drive the same? Another words, is it really AWD or front wheel drive until it needs it then it goes by itself into 4 WD? All the sales persons I talk to at toyota dealers really don’t seem to know how to explain to me - a woman - how it operates? AWD or front wheel drive? Until it senses that I need 4 wheel drive? I am a poor driver on ice and the Subaru helped me considerable? I am really confused on the highlander and how it operates.

Is the highlander a good choice? Or what would you suggest?

The Highlander is a very good vehicle if you spend a lot of time on bad roads and in snowy areas. Our family doctor, an outdoors type, has one and loves it.

However, if you are used to a car-like ride the Highlander may disappoint you. As will many other larger SUVs, like the Chevy Suburban.

If you want lots of room with car-like ride, try the Ford Flex (available in AWD); it has all those in spades. It is most like the traditional large station wagon. Alternatively, really examine why you want AWD or 4WD. Very few people actually need it and a good set of winter tires will do the trick.

The Highlander is based on the Camry platform. It is a far better ride then MOST if not all mid to large SUV’s. I know a couple of people who own them…and they are very comfortable. Not as comfortable as a most mid-size cars…but still very good. As far as I’m concerned it’s really a cross-over. Toyota use to call it a cross-over when it was first introduced. It has some of the features of a SUV, but lacks some too. Unless you need 4wd then I suggest you get a good mid-size car instead. I was very disappointed with the gas mileage of the highlander. Not much better then my 4runner (which can tow a LOT more…true 4wd…rwd (great for towing)).