When to replace the belt - newbie

I have KIA Rio 2007 with 56k miles. My wife took it into a mechanic who suggested she replace the belt (I guess serpentine belt). I did a bit of research and this is below the average replacement distance of 60k-100k miles.

Does the belt(s) look like it needs replacing in the attached photos? I do not see any cracks that the mechanic said to my wife.

I’m a newbie who is looking to learn a bit about cars as well. I appreciate your help. Thank you.

Depends on whether the mechanic meant the serpentine belt or the timing belt. Your picture is of the serpentine belt. However at eight years old you might want to do both.

“mechanic…suggested she replace the belt (I guess serpentine belt)”

You shouldn’t be guessing, because he may have been talking about the timing belt, and ignoring/postponing that type of maintenance can be…very costly.

IIRC, Kia specifies a timing belt replacement interval of 5 years or 60k miles, whichever comes first. On that basis, while you are coming up very soon on the 60k mark, you are about 2 years overdue on the basis of elapsed time–which is just as important as the odometer mileage factor.

If this engine is of the “interference” type, when the timing belt snaps (with no warning whatsoever), pistons and valves will collide and lead to very expensive repairs.

Even if the engine is not of the interference design, when the timing belt snaps the engine immediately stalls, you lose power assist for the steering, and there will only be enough power boost for the brakes for one hard stop. Imagine if that happened…at turnpike speeds while amongst 18-wheelers…or while crossing RR tracks…or while driving through a very dicey area late at night.

All of this is why timing belts should be replaced proactively by following the mfr’s guidelines. To do otherwise is…foolish…and not cost-effective, to say the least.