What's Wrong With My 1997 Subaru Outback?

My local, independent, trustworthy mechanic says he’s never heard of a Subaru under 100k miles, let alone under 200k miles, having so many mechanical and electrical problems as mine has had in the last year! Differential, transfer case, code creating necessity to add fuse to disconnect AWD, leaks, radiator, power steering fluid, door locks not working, cruise control intermittently working, and now, suddenly, a huge noise in the transmission and refusal to budge! That’s the current state, but it’s the tip of the iceberg! My dear Outback (I’m its first and only owner) has less than 98,000 miles and I’ve always treated it with care! HELP!!! I haven’t explained the problems well, as I’m not a mechanic and it’s late at night, but if you have an idea what I should do, please tell me! Right now, it’s at the mechanic’s and I’m asked to decide whether to put in a use or a rebuilt transmission. Each costs TOO MUCH but the used has only a 90-day warranty! Fix it with one of those and then sell it? What to do? Thanks.

If you are the first and only owner, you should be able to provide information on the car’s maintenance history, which is crucial to understanding the car’s current problems–yet you have given us no clue regarding its maintenance. “I’ve always treated it with care” does not really tell us anything specific regarding the maintenance of this car, unfortunately.

However, in the absence of that information, I will give you my thoughts on the problems that you relate: