What would you buy? A new Toyota Corolla or a Honda Civic?

Hello to everyone!
If you were to buy a car, given your knowledge of mechanics, what would you buy: a new Toyota Corolla or a Honda Civic (which type, i.e. LE, CE, etc)? I need a car that will drive some 200K miles, safe to drive my family and that if I keep up with the maintenance schedule, won’t end up being a lemon after, say, 100K miles.
Thank you for your honest response.

Both are excellent vehicles with well above average reliability ratings. Buy the one you like…either is a great choice.

I’m a mechanic, but who cares what I would buy? There’s no point in buying a reliable economical car if the seats are uncomfortable for you or you don’t like the way the front end looks or the steering wheel is too thick for your hands.

If you’ve searched and have narrowed down your preferences to these 2 cars, don’t just go on a 20 minute test drive. Rent one for 2-3 days and use it as you would in your daily life. Get a feel for how comfortable it is and how well it fits you.

That said, I’d choose the Toyota because I find they ride a little more comfortably. But either one should be a reliable car with proper maintenance.

Whichever does not have a cvt trans

Rent one for 2-3 days and use it as you would in your daily life. Get a feel for how comfortable it is and how well it fits you.

This is very good advise. We’ve had several people in this forum over the years saying they just bought a new vehicle and then ask how to make the seats more comfortable…the ride is too harsh… If the seat is uncomfortable and the ride too harsh…then why would any buy that vehicle.

The advice about renting a particular type of car for a few days is definitely a good idea.
However, the OP needs to be aware that different trim lines of the same model may have somewhat different seats, and may have VERY different ride qualities.