What maintenance should be performed on older low mileage Accord purchased recently

Hi everyone! I’m not a mechanic so I apologize for the long question. I recently bought a 1997 Honda Accord from the family of an older woman who passed. The car is a base model with only 45K miles. It was apparently babied as it looks brand new and even smells like it! :slight_smile: I have family who has owned this model before and I know they are tanks! My question is what sort of maintenance should I perform to ensure longetivity? ie trans fluid flush, coolant flush, timing belt, etc.

I am a poor college student and therefore wish to perform the least maintenance necessary while ensuring the car drives forever.

Thanks SO much for all the help!

Do you have any records of what maintenance was done on it and when it was done?

none at all. :-/

At a bare minimum at this point in time I’d say a fuel filter, transmission fluid change, and unfortunately, a timing belt/water pump/tensioner job.

The latter is a bit pricy but if it cannot be proven that it was done then it should always be assumed that it has not. If that’s the original belt then it’s 15 years old and it’s been a ticking time bomb for about a decade.

After that you might consider a new set of plugs, air filter, coolant and brake fluid change, etc. as finances permit.

OK called it. I just helped on a T-belt job this weekend where the old belt was so bad that every tooth was cracked. We broke it just getting it out. On hondas, when they break, they cause significant engine damage that’s very expensive to fix.

Are there any stickers from oil change places with dates/miles for next change?

The most important and likely a $500+ endeavor is the timing belt.

Otherwise your peach will turn to junk or a $3000 repair in an instant.

I had the oil changed recently myself… So that much is covered at least! :stuck_out_tongue: