What kind of car to buy to keep forever?

My wife and I want to live debt free. Our 2008 Pontiac Torrent is just about paid off and we want to trade for another similar car that we can keep forever. I am a diesel mechanic, so I plan to do all the maintenance and repairs. I had wanted to keep trading up every few years, but then got another idea that we could just keep a car forever and maybe have it turn into a classic. Drive it on into our old age. I’m thinking the cost would be about the same. Replace the engines, transmissions, brakes, go through it and keep it mint, whatever it takes. Am thinking of something made now that has the potential to be a classic in 30 years. Any ideas?

With today’s disposable society, I doubt ANYTHING will last long enough to become a classic.

Not saying it can’t be done, but how many Mustang or Camaro owners thought their junked up 60s car would be worth some sweet cash after 50 years? Can anyone predict what could possibly be a classic in the future? Will you be able to find any parts for the car after 10 years?

With the huge changes in technology, I’d look for 15 year cars, not lifetime cars. I’d hate to be driving a 30 year old car today, even if it was in mint condition.