Valid Solara Tran Pan Gasket; Fuel Injector Fixes?

MAKE/MODEL/YEAR: Toyota Solara SLE 2000

MILES: 28,200 (primarily highway miles)

STORAGE: Garaged

FUEL: Inexpensive unleaded, octane ranging from 85-87 at places such as Sam’s Club or Loaf and Jug.

AUTO KNOWLEDGE DISCLAIMER: I’m a novice.

SITUATION

Oil has been diligently changed every 3,000 - 4,000 miles at same Toyota Dealership, where regularly scheduled maintenance is also done.

Most recent change was early January at 27,890, at which time the Service Manager stated that transmission fluid seal is leaking and fuel injectors need cleaning.

Based on spousal unit’s recommendation, I declined fixes and brought car home. Put newspapers under car; no evidence of leaks from engine; car runs fine.

Reviewed the invoice today and noticed the notation on it states “Needs fuel service and tranny pan gasket leaking”. So decided to tri-angulate my spousal unit’s recommendation and revisit my earlier decision to take no action by starting here, at Car Talk.

Fuel discussions in this appear to give a consistent “thumbs down” for fuel injector cleanings. Also researched owner’s manual and found nothing about injectors.

The transmission discussions were more difficult for me to follow.

QUESTIONS

Given above info, including low mileage:

1. Any reason to do anything more than run Seafoam (or other highly praised) cleaner through my gas tank?

2. Is “tranny pan gasket” the same as the “transmission fluid seal”, or something else?

3. I will have a 30K check-up done later this year, probably in the fall. Am I courting some kind of problem by ignoring the “seal” problem until then (i.e., because there is no evidence of a leak on my garage floor)?

4. What have I forget to disclose, ask and/or consider vis-a-vis “covering my bases” for this situation?

Thank you in advance for your responses.

RJ

I think you need a new dealer. Or find a good independent for a second opinion.