Vacuum Issues

Hello Gentlemen,
I own a ‘64’ Montclair Breezeway. I just replaced the 390 that’s in it, and it was rebuilt and has less than 16,000 miles on the motor.
I believe I’m having vacuum issues in the motor and the transmission.
When I’m at a complete stop and I want to floor it, there’s a “pffft” sound and it acts like it wants to die until I ease off of the pedal, then I ease into it and it’s fine. Although, it takes time to shift, and it does so almost sparatically. Even rolling down the road at say about 45mph, I floor it with some lag and it takes a second for it to really get moving. When he gets going though, it runs like a scalded dog. I love this car, it was a 3rd Deployment gift to myself. I’m currently on my 4th combat tour in Afghanistan right now. I’m stationed at Fort Campbell,KY with the 101st Airborne Division. I’m a Heavy Wheeled Operator.
Another vacuum issue is my Brake Booster isn’t working, as you guys probably know, stopping a car like mine with manual brakes is a job in itself.
The breezeway rear window still works too. I added the make & model as requested, only Montclairs aren’t listed.
Thank you guys!
Look forward to listening to you fellas again when I get home in June. Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!!
Sincerely,

SGT Josh Lindstrom
101st Airborne Division 3rd Brigade
FOB Salerno
Afghanistan

Having a problem with the brake booster would likely lead you to believe that the engine problem is also vacuum-related, but there are other possibilites for the hesitation, in addition to a vacuum problem.

Chief on my list would be the accelerator pump in the carburetor. If the nozzle of the accelerator pump is gummed-up, or if the accelerator pump is actually damaged (by ethanol in the gas, perhaps?), that could account for the hesitation that you describe.

Another possibility is that the ignition timing is “off”, and that it needs to be advanced a bit.