Used Wrong Oil - 2009 Chrysler 300

**Below article references 2009 Chrysler 300 Limited 3.5L V6

When reading manual it said 5w-20 for 2.7L-5.7L, which I translated as “2.7L to 5.7L” misinterpreting the dash between the two. On the next page and on the oil cap it says 10w-30.

Well, I already put in 5w-20 and now I’m worried my engines gonna wear in high heat this summer. Up in Canada I think it’d be fine in the winter, but we’ve been getting 25°C (77°F) on average constantly. I’m no mechanic, am I right to be worried? I don’t wanna dump $60 of oil

I doubt one change with 5w-20 would affect your engine, but it’s cheap to fix, so putting the right oil in would be worth the peace of mind, to me.

It’d definitely be worth the piece of mind, but still it’s $60 and what a pain it was to empty that thing. It was synthetic as well so it’ll last forever now. Do you think it really wouldn’t have an affect on the engine to leave it in?

Your money , your choice . Unless you have had this thing since new who knows what has been put in it. After all you are not in the desert heat so I say relax and drive on.

Make sure you’re using the correct oil and changing it frequently.

Tester

“If ever there was a service opportunity ripe for the taking, Chrysler’s 3.5L SOHC V6 engine (and its 2.7L, 3.2L and 4.0L cousins) is it. This engine was introduced back in 1993 as an “upgrade” from the earlier 3.3L pushrod V6 engine. Some would question whether the move was a step forward or backward because the 3.5L V6 (and its variants) has a poor reputation for ­reliability. Lubrication issues, oil sludging, coolant leaks, overheating and low-mileage ­engine failures have plagued this engine family from the get-go.”

Wow…and Chrysler put these in LOTS of cars…

Agree that for normal highway driving the 20 weight oil is OK. However, if you are towing a trailer or camper or will be driving very fast, I’d change to a 30 weight. The Canadian summer weather is of no consequence.