Used Car Reliability Question

Hey there. I’m a new driver, although I’m 28 years old. I just moved to Orange County from San Francisco, where I never needed a car or a license. Unfortunately I’m discovering that insuring a car is a very pricey proposition for newly-licensed drivers, regardless of age. Quotes for a new car (I was looking at a Ford Focus) were around 400 dollars a month or more from reputable insurers.

So, I’m scaling back a bit and looking for a used car that I can buy outright, not finance, and cut back on the insurance costs in that manner. A co-worker of mine has a 1993 Chevy Cavalier (170k miles) that he’s selling for 1100 dollars. The problems here is that it was previously owned by his roommate, who was broke for about a year as far as I can ascertain. It also failed a smog check in February (in California).

So, I guess my question is that whether the 1100 dollars is a good deal for the car considering the above factors. How much will it cost to get a new catalytic converter installed? What can I expect in terms of maintenance costs considering that much of it was probably delayed for the last year of ownership?

Lastly, are Cavaliers reliable at this age? My grandmother had one that lasted her a while, but I’m concerned about the mileage. Beggars can’t be choosers, obviously, but I haven’t had a lot of luck finding a cheap used car (under 3k or so) on Ebay or Craigslist, and I can’t wait much longer before pulling the trigger on this. Any advice is appreciated.

It’s almost impossible to hazard a guess about reliability and maintenance costs on an older vehicle with that many miles.
I would be very skeptical of this purchase, especially considering it was owned by a broke roommate and failed smog.