Used Car Recommendation?

Until recently, I owned a 2002 Chevy Silverado. It had the 5.3 V8 with 4WD. I averaged approximately 18 mpg/highway. I REALLY liked it! But about three weeks ago, I was in a car accident and my truck was totaled.

So now I need to purchase another vehicle. But I can’t afford to purchase anything new. I drive about 60 miles (mostly highway) every day to go to/from work. I’d like to take this “opportunity” to get something that gets better gas mileage. But I have a German Shepherd Dog and need something that will be able to fit her very large crate.

I’m pretty open-minded about what to buy. I’m okay with hatchback or small SUV (Escape/Blazer/etc), so long as it meets the two criteria: Decent/good gas mileage & ample capacity for toting a large dog crate.

Any suggestions?

Thanks,

Ron

P.S. I’m a volunteer firefighter. So it’s important to me that it handles well in inclement weather (snow, rain, etc). 4WD is a plus.

Pick up a Consumer Reports New Car Buyers’ Guide at the local bookstore and test drive all that look interesting to you. Capacity, AWD, and mileage may be tough to get all in the same package.

Thanks for your input. Unfortunately, I’m not looking to purchase a new vehicle. So I’m not sure the “New Car Buyers’ Guide” would be particularly helpful to me.

Does anyone have any recommendations on specific vehicles to look at or stay away from?

Thanks,
Ron

There are as many car preferences as people. While I am a Toyota fan, American cars do well for the first 120,000 miles or so. A low mileage Dodge Caravan will get fairly good mileage and your dog will fit, also can be modestly priced. Have a trustworthy mechanic check it out.