Used 5w20 instead of 5w30 per manual

I live in AZ currently it’s over 100F. I accidently used 5w20 instead of 5w30. should I drain it out and replace with 5W30 before the next oil change? What about the filter, can I wait to replace that until the next oil change?

I the car still under warranty? If so, I might drain it and replace the oil. No need to replace the filter.

4 Likes

I’m no mechanic, but I’m 99% sure that going to a lower-viscosity oil in hotter conditions is the wrong way to go. If it was me, I’d drain the 5W-20 (but I wouldn’t bother with removing and draining the filter - not that much oil) and add the 5W-30. The 5W-20 probably won’t have a big impact, but for the cost, why take the chance?

1 Like

Does your temp gauge read hotter when it is 60f vs 95f? Cars cooling system controls engine temp. Not outside air. Drain 20w and put in 30w.

It seems that answering this person is difficult : Are we talking about a complete oil change - or just adding oil to the vehicle - what year is vehicle - what does the manual list as oil requirements.

1 Like

If the oil is 100% synthetic the 0W20 will be OK. But if the car is new and under warranty, I would drain it just to be sure. The best oil, of course is 0W30 synthetic that will withstand the highest temperature and also heavy loads in case you are towing a trailer.

Irlandes may chime and mention that in Mexico they put 20W50 in most cars.

Modern, however, cars rely on the engine oil to optimise the valve timing, so that you should not deviate from the manufacturer’s specification. That’s one reason for the 0W designation, it allows the valves to function properly during cold starts. A thick 20W50 will screw up the system.

What year is your car? I know for my 1999 Honda Civic, the original recommendation was 5W30. 5W20 was just about unheard of in 1999. In recent years Honda has said 5W20, and has recommended that retroactively, so I now use that in my Honda.