Upside-down on a lemon

I’m a novice at car repair and new at buying/selling cars. I have a 2002 Chevy Trailblazer with 145K miles a slightly warped back axel from hitting a curb on ice. Mechancic checked out the axel and said its safe. I’ve just had the transmission rebuilt and I’m about 5K upside down on it. Any advice? Keep it running until paid off? Sell? Sell for parts?

It’s a lemon?

If your mechanic says that it’s good to go on the bent rear axle and you’re okay with that, why not just keep ahold of it? All you’ve done is a transmission?

Keep it; trans rebuild at 140K is doing well. Don’t see the lemon part.

Fix your rear axle hopefully with the required insurance you are supposed to carry typically if this is a loan situation.

The vehicle is not a lemon.

You did not say why you had the transmission rebuilt, but I suspect at 145K it is not something you would consider calling a car a lemon over. Most likely the lack of keeping fluid in it, or not changing the fluid resulted in a life somewhat shorter than it should be. Hitting a curb is not the fault of the car so I can’t see it as a lemon by any definition.

Keep it running until it is paid off and next time, don’t play games with the financing and get upside-down.

It is difficult to call a car this old a lemon. The fact that it has lasted this long suggests it isn’t a lemon.

This car is six years old and you still owe $5,000? Did you buy it new? How long is the term of the loan? If you bought it used you either paid too much or didn’t put enough money down at the time of purchase. If you bought it new you made a bad decision about the financing.

If you hit a curb in ice, why didn’t you file an insurance claim? Even if you didn’t get it fixed, you could have put that money towards the loan.

Selling a car that is worth less than you owe will only compound your problem. You need to keep it running AT LEAST until it is paid off.