TWO tanks, and I ran out of diesel with 20 gallons remaining

I’m an artist, so my "pickup truck’ is actually a large Isuzu Cabover called an FTR; you’ve all seem 'em, they’re nearly all white and most have boxes on the back.

Anyway, I have two 50 gallon tanks, but last week started up a slight hill and the engine ran out of Diesel!!! (this is a bad thing for those who know diesel engines.

Anyway, I was SHOCKED to discover that when I got towed and restarted that I still had 20 gallons of fuel!!!

What happened?

You were running on the empty tank…

Thanks Caddyman,

I forgot one piece of information, it pulls from both tanks simultaneously… there’s no switch to go from one to another.

The only thing that comes to mind is, if it pulls from both tanks simultaneously then one tank had less fuel than the other so the fuel pump ended up pulling air from the empty tank. Could be the fuel line that connects both tank has a problem

How old is your truck? It could be the fuel lines from one tank to the other have a problem, kinked, clogged, or the pick up screen is clogged with dirt on one tank.

Perhaps parking on a steep hill could affect the balance of fuel in the tanks. Since this can recur you need to troubleshoot the problem. Some fuel tanks are complicated and involve multiple fuel pumps.

It’s a 1999 Isuzu FTR.

I did think of one POSSIBLE cause:
I believe the last time I got fuel, I only filled one tank (50 gallons of diesel only meant I couldn’t eat for a week instead of not eating for 2 weeks with 100 gallons).

I always presumed the tanks would level themselves out.

Is it possible that if one is empty and one not, it could have just sucked in air as I drove up the hill? (I would have thought the designers would have taken this into account.)

Thanks,

James

If you have a 99, maybe this doesn’t apply to yours.

ISUZU FTR 1997 Safety Report #SB9902C003