*trying* to restore a 72 mustang - cranks, doesn't start

This thing is a piece of work. The previous owner took out the Cleveland engine and dropped in a 460. I suspect the wiring is a little out of whack, but I was able to get the electrical system hooked up enough to crank the engine. When I turn the key, I hear a sound like the engine wants to start, but it doesn’t (sort of like a weak battery…but I just put a brand new one in).

Could this be the starter motor? Possibly no fuel getting pumped in? (Before anyone suggests the obvious…I put a few gallons of gas in it already).

I’m an accountant pretending to be a mechanic, so any guidance would be VERY much appreciated! Feel free to poke fun as well…I’m a good sport.

Just give a quick squirt of starting fluid down the carb. If it starts, there’s a fuel problem.

Tester

Take the air cleaner off. Look down the carburetor while operating the throttle linkage. You should see fuel squirting into the middle of the primary (front) venturis. No fuel? Find out why, like maybe a failed fuel pump.

Fuel’s there? You’ll need a voltmeter. Check the voltage from the POSITIVE side of the coil to the NEGATIVE battery post with the key in the “on” position. You should read 12 or so volts. Then check the NEGATIVE coil terminal to battery NEGATIVE. With the key in the “start” position, with the starter cranking the engine over you should see some value lower than 12 volts.

Do this stuff and report back to this post.

I assume you have checked to make sure there is spark getting to the plugs. If you have spark and Tester’s suggestion of using starting fluid doesn’t make it fire up then mark the position of the distibutor. Then try adjusting the disty while cranking the engine to see if the timing is off slightly. If that doesn’t work then there is most likely a valve timing problem.