Transmission Fluid in Oil

I recently took my wife’s care into my mechanic because it had a serious knocking problem. My mechanic called and asked who did the oil change, because there is transmission fluid in the oil. He had seen it before with a quick lube place (just like we had taken it too). Would this have any effect on the motor if driven for quite a while this way?

There should be no problem…Transmission fluid is basically high detergent 5 or 10 weight mineral oil. It should not have caused any clunking or other problems, especially if driven only a mile or two…Now on a hot summer day at interstate speeds, engine damage could occur.

What kind of car are we talking about here? How many miles?

Sorry, I misread your “Quite a few miles” statement…That’s a different story…These stories seldom have happy endings…

I am not an expert on this problem but it sure sounds like, yes, it does, it makes it start knocking, heh, heh. Hope you get better answers from our best mechanics.

You are about to learn that the people here view taking your car to a quick lube place to be an act of self-destruction – or car destruction, if you prefer. The employees are not highly paid nor motivated, and as you have seen, they do make mistakes.

Also, if you don’t change it yourself, no matter who does, when you get the car back, open the hood, and check both the transmission level and condition, assuming it is automatic, and the engine oil level and condition. Learn what things under the hood look like so you can spot any problem or error.

Does your mechanic know which dipstick goes to the engine and which dipstick goes to the transmission?

Maybe he is the one that has them confused. Especially if he tells you the transmission is full of motor oil! (your car will not go few far at all with motor oil in the tranny).

Quick-lube joints with bulk oil dispensers, they have 6 different delivery hoses hanging down, it’s easy for a “Grease Monkey” to grab the wrong one…