Title not in hand...pay up or wait?

Hi guys, I have a very interesting tale to tell and get your advice on.

I’m a grad student in Rice University from India. I donot have a Texas drivers license, i do have an Indian drivers license.

A person I know, has a Honda accord 2001, with 110K miles, which I want to buy for 4000$. It is in good condition, no accidents, damage, runs good, manual tranny (I know that the automatics in 2001 Accord were suspect)

He took a loan from ACU Texas, and has to pay them around 4000$ back. He and I both bank with Chase in Houston.

The title is with ACU right now.

This is what I think I should do:

1. Give him the money for the car via chase bank cheque, and get a bill of payment for the car signed with a witness. This can be done in Chase bank itself. Then he withdraws the required money from his account and we drive to the

ACU texas. Acu texas is a little funny. Because they do so many auto loans, they will take 6 to 8 weeks to mail the title to you if you ask them to do so by mail. I called them up and they said that if you tell them before hand, and if you;re paying cash, they shall have the title ready for you and you can take it directly after paying cash.

Thus, in the best case scenario, I get a witness and a money trail from Chase bank, and get the title in hand immediately. In the worst case, I pay the guy, have the car in hand, and have to wait for the title to come to him and then we transfer it over.

Please let me know about your opinion on this matter.

"I called them up and they said that if you tell them before hand, and if you;re paying cash, they shall have the title ready for you and you can take it directly after paying cash."