Timing Belt and Engine Valves

I posted just a part of this question without going io any detail. (This is my first time). A couple of days ago, when I started my car, it made a banging noise and then cut off. All of the dash lights came on, and the car would not restart, although it sounded like it was going. I took it to a mechanic that I never used before because I’m new to my area. He said that the timing belt has gone into the engine and the valves may be bent. The only way to know if the valves are bent is to replace the belt for 500.00. If the valves are bent, then it wil be 3000.00 for a new engine. It’s a 1997 Volvo. What are the chances that my valves are bent, and does this seem like the correct diagnosis?

how many miles? Timing belts are supposed to be replaced at something like 60k miles (check your owners manual). On many cars, if the timing belt breaks, it causes valve and cylinder head damage, which could mean a new engine.

Looked up 97 Volvos, and depending upon engine type, 50k-70k is recommended for belt replacement. My internet source says all volvo engines are interference engines, ie, if the belt breaks, your engine is gone.