Timing belt 08 gti

I have a 2008 VW gti that is a bit past the suggest miles to replace the timing belt. It’s “supposed” to be changed around 100-120k miles and it’s at 130k right now. Doing a little research I felt pretty sure it’s a smart idea to go ahead and replace the timing belt considering I plan on driving the car for the next few years and want to avoid destroying the cars engine via the timing belt snapping. I live in a fairly small town but a big enough town to where you feel like everything is here that u need. It’s a college town and I’m a student so there’s a good amount going on here. The first two auto shops I went to didn’t have the “proper tools” to replace the timing belt on my car so they recommended an auto shop about 15 minutes out of town that speculated in foreign cars, etc. It turns out that this place didn’t have the right tools for the job either and said he didn’t know of any places up here that had the right tools to chance the timing belt on an 08 gti. I searched around on the Internet for anyone else that came across something like this but nothing popped up. The closest VW dealership is a good ways away and it’s not exactly convenient for me to head all the way there for an all day type of job.

I found this rather strange that no auto shops had the tools to do this job. That leads to my first question of if it’s so important to get the timing belt replaced then why isn’t there someone out there that can do it? Basically if you assume there will be a demand for something then it makes sense someone could supply it. It makes me think this “required” maintenance may not be as important as I I think?