Terrible fuel economy

Hi guys, I am testing my luck with this form because i have been having some tricky problems with my 2001 7.3 diesel. I bought the truck in August. Ever since then I have been getting about 13 mpg. It was a little better than 13 when i first got it and now it is closer to 12. I never new 13 was low since I am new to diesels. Everyone I have spoken to agrees that this truck should be getting at least 17. A few months ago, I took it into my mechanic to find the problem. He found a massive fuel leak behind the turbo and found that the sensor for the ebpv was shot and the tube was clogged. He fixed the leak and replaced the ebpv sensor and tube. I thought that would solve all my problems, but after I went to fill up I found that I was getting 12.3 mpg. How my mileage could go down after fixing a fuel leak baffles me. I also noticed that the engine was hissing while I was driving – I assumed it was the ebpv again, so I brought the truck back in and had the ebpv deleted. I have seen virtually no improvement to my mpg. No one I have spoken to can even formulate a guess as to what the problem might be. This truck is all stock with the exception of a dp tuner with 80hp tunes. It is a regular cab with 8 foot bed and usually weights around 7500lbs. I would really appreciate any ideas for what the issue could be. I do not believe upgrades are the answer to this; I am confident that something is not functioning properly and needs to be fixed.

Your diesel and your truck have hit the wall. Without some big change like a complete overhaul or a replacement of the fuel injectors or an unclogged exhaust system or some successful diagnosis that fixes the problem, the fuel economy will stay down.

Check tire pressure because you may be way too low. You may need at least 60 PSI for that weight, maybe more.