Struts and Stuff

My (non-Lexus) mechanic (excellent, first-rate, the best) insists that my 2006 Lexus RX 400h with 25000 miles has bad struts. Lexus replaced the original Good Year Eagles after 20000 miles but only because (they said)the car had bad allignment. After 5000 miles on the new Michelins my mechanic again says premature wear from bad struts. Difficult for me to see the cupping or feel the chopping (but, hey, I’m no mechanic.) What do I tell Lexus? Should I wait until the wear is more apparent (at least to me?) Will Lexus accept my mechanic’s diagnosis? If I wait too long will that just kill another set of tires? What to do, what to do?

Lexus is not going to take anyone’s word other than the Lexus service dept. personnel.
Without knowing what the tread wear pattern looks like it’s impossible to tell if you have an alignment issue or bad strut issue. It’s rare, but possible for struts to go bad within 25k miles.

Question. Lexus replaced the tires due to a bad alignment. Was the alignment checked and corrected at that time?

If I make an assumption here that the edges of the front tires are feather-edging, etc. then this would probably point towards an alignment issue rather than a strut problem.

Hi ok4450,

Thanks for the response. When Lexus replaced the original tires (at 20000 miles) they checked and corrected the allignment with the understanding that we would monitor the tire wear every 5000 mile. Now its 25000 miles and my mechanic detects chopping which he attributes, as he did earlier, to bad struts. I’m about to bring the car back to Lexus for the 5000 mile check-up. If you are right about the feather-edging, can that be the result of bad struts, especially since the tires were alligned 5000 miles ago. Should the allignment be thrown off every 5000 miles? I’ve owned and driven many cars, including my wife’s 1999 RX 300, and have never had a tire problem of this kind. Can there be a deeper suspension issue as my independent mechanic says?