Starting a 6 volt Engine

I am trying to get my newly rebuilt 1951 230ci 6cyl plymouth engine started. Its installed in a 1936 dodge sedan. Its a 6 voly positive ground system. I am by no means a mechanical genious. I can get the motor to crank and have no spark at the plugs. If I put one of those testers with the light in them to the small coil wire that goes to the side of the distributor it lights when the key is on so I assume I am getting power to the distributor, right? If I pull out the center wire on the coil and try to see a spark while cranking I do not get a spark. I am also not sure if I am using a condenser and points from the 36 in the 51 distributor, will that make a difference? Any help would be appreciated,

Get a 6 volt battery and hope you have not damaged too much by running it at 12 Volts.

Since your test light comes on at the distributor, voltage is flowing through the primary side of the distributor as it should. The ignition points in the distributor make and break the circuit to the chassis ground. When the points are closed, the primary side of the coil is energized. When the points open, the magnetic field in the coil collapses and causes a high voltage to be induced into the secondary winding of the coil. ThiS high voltage travels to the tower of the distributor cap and the rotor sends the voltage to the proper spark plug.

The first suspect is the ignition points. Make certain that the points are opening and closing. If the points are closed, flick them open with a screwdriver and see if you get a spark from the high voltage coil wire to the engine block. If you do, reset the disributor gap. If you don’t, make certain that you are getting voltage the to the ignition points. Check the condenser to be certain that it isn’t shorted.