Staggered Wheels

My wife hit a pothole & bent a rim here in Potholuma, CA. Her Mercedes CLK 500 comes with staggered 17" rims, 7.5" in front & 8.5" in rear. We’d like to go with the same size all around. The owner’s manual says we can. The Mercedes dealership says it will cause all kinds of handling & mileage issues. Does anyone out there know the real answer?

I am not a Mercedes expert, so I have no business arguing with the dealer, but doesn’t a CLK ride on a standard C platform? If so, then surely you could put 7.5" wheels all the way around with no clearance problems and no adverse affects on your daily commute.

If, however, you are the kind of driver who clicks off the stability control and pushes the CLK hard through the curves, I fear that you may experience increased oversteer if you change the original layout. Without its electronic reigns holding it back, that engine is more than happy to break the rear end loose. The staggered tire widths keep those drifting turns balanced.

My wife’s BMW has staggered wheels, and I would have no concerns with putting same-width wheels all the way around on her car if I were replacing wheels.

@ntagnst I believe the ABS/stability control module “knows” what size tires and rims you have. Using the same size front and rear could cause havoc. You might be able to reprogram the control module so that it realizes you have the same size front and rear tire.

All the ABS/stability control cares about is tire diameter, not width, so as long as the replacement wheel/tire combination is the same as the tires on the 8.5" wheels you should be OK.

And I always give preference to the carefully-researched owners manual over the folks at the dealership. What, exactly, does it say?

@texases I believe the control module takes into account the overall diameter of your tire/wheel setup.
You could theoretically have a narrow and a wide setup with the same overall diameter.