Spun bearings

Car has been running great. Shut it off one night, would not start next morning. After trying usual things with no success it was determined that engine was ceased. Upon pulling the pan discovered the bearings were spun and crank ruined. I was a mechanic for many years and also my current repair man have never heard of anything like this happening before. Oil is changed regularly and was clean now except for shaving. Any ideas why this would happen so quickly without any previous problems?

A spun insert is not uncommon but usually there is some indication of a problem before the crank seizes. There is usually some noise from the rod knocking, as in Rod Knox, especially when the throttle is punched and released. Even a minor quick acceleration will usually cause an unmistakable knock when the throttle is released. But, regardless of that, a spun insert will definitely trash a crankshaft and require pulling the engine to repair it or possibly just replace the engine with a salvaged part. The 3.8L Buick engine has an excellent reputation and such a failure in a well maintained and adult driven car is unusual.

+1 for @RodKnox. Check the drain back holes in the cylinder heads. The last case of spun bearings that I saw was in my son’s 350 equipped truck. He punched it in order to pass a line of cars on the interstate. Shortly after…the knocking started. The subsequent teardown showed that the drain back holes in both heads were almost completely blocked. The oil poured out of both valve covers when they were removed. No oil…no lubrication.

There was never any knocking or other noise to indicate a problem.