Someday

I’m into '60s & '70s American cars. I’m also an independent trucker, which takes most of my time and leaves very little free time at home. Here’s the problem: over the years, I’ve managed to attain a small collection of cars, most of which are “projects”, but all are in decent shape, valuable, and stored indoors away from harm. We all know the guy who has old cars that seem to sit forever, but he won’t sell because he’s going to restore them someday. Meanwhile, the cars deteriorate into oblivion. These cars are like my kids, and the thought of selling any of them makes me ill. But, realistically, I probably will never get to all of them. They’re pretty desirable models, too: '67 Camaro ragtop, (2) '69 Chargers, and a Caddy Coupe Deville, among others. What to do? Sell and regret, or keep 'em and deny someone else a chance to own an old car?

Maybe you can share? Say you maintain title and ownership, but you allow someone to drive the car in return for investing money and time into reconditioning, or maintaining it. That way you keep the car, and can drive it. The car gets more outings with another driver. You get to control who you partner with in this way.

For instance there maybe a Camaro lover who will partner with you on the Camaro, and a hemi MoPar lover who will partner with you on the Charger(s). If you visit some car shows and contact some car clubs you are likely to find someone interested in some proposal and you can work out the details together.

This way you keep the cars, make some new friends, and make some other car lovers happy too. If you live in NE PA, I’m on board!

How about get rid of the ones that mean the least to you or need the most work and focus on the ones that you might actually find to work on? That way you’ll have less to do and more space to do it.