Smoke from steering column

I have little puff’s of smoke coming from my steering column, and was wondering if anyone else had this problem or how hard it would be to fix myself.

I’m no expert, but this could be a problem with your ignition switch, which to my knowledge is very dangerous because it could set your car on fire. Don’t park in your garage until this is checked out.

When do you get the smoke? Right after starting the car, after it’s been running a while, or when using turn signals or another accessory?

The smoke seems to come at random i tried to make it smoke by turning my turn signals on and off, and also by starting it and sometimes it would and sometimes it wouldn’t

Are the little puffs of smoke accompanied by a cracking, snapping sound? Is there a whiff of ozone too? If these puffs are caused by electrical shorts this is serious.

If you keep driving the car you might want to consider putting a fire extinghiser in the passanger seat.

I’d Move The Driver’s Seat Back As Far As Possible. I’d Hate To Get A Surprise Upper-Cut Should The Air Bag Deploy.

Get r’ done, ASAP. As far as working on the steering column yourself is concerned, how does it look in your Saturn Service Manual ? Does it look like something that you can handle with the tools you have and your level of expertise ?

CSA

Is This Car Called A “Saturn L” ? What Is The Full Model Name And Model Year, Please.

CSA

This is likely to be an electrical fire in the making. Unless you want to risk losing the car to a conflagration, I would suggest that you drive it directly to a competent mechanic’s shop, and advise him to disconnect the battery immediately, so as to prevent a fire from consuming his shop.

As to fixing it yourself–and I say this with all due respect–if you have to ask this question, then the probable answer is, no. As but one example, do you have experience in disconnecting airbags so that they do not deploy when working on that area of the car?