Small Car

Hi,

I’m an MBA student doing some research on small cars. I’m wondering what you think a consumer should look for in buying a small car (4/5 passenger and less than 15K base new). Any makes/models you particularly recommend and why?

$15k does not buy much in new cars (Hyundai Accent). It will, however, buy a decent 3 - 4 year-old one.

Twotone

How many cars are base price under $15K new? You can research base prices and models on sites like AutoTrader.com and Edmunds.com and come back with makes and models that fit your criteria. Do the research and give us a list and you’ll get some opinions on those cars.

I have an '03 Honda Civic that I bought new and am very happy with 100K miles later. It wasn’t the cheap model, so in '03 it was $17 to 18K. I’m not sure if you can get a Civic new for $15K? If you can, I’d say it is a good car. The base Civic now has the Vtec motor (which I had to up model to have in '03), it has ABS brakes, and it will have low operating and repair costs.

I’m particularly interested in hearing how folks feel about the Chevy Aveo, Kia Soul, Ford Fiesta, Mazda 2, and Toyota Yaris. And if you’ve heard of the Tata Nano (now in India…to be introduced in the US in the coming years)…what do you think of this as an alternative?

I think a consumer should look for the local bookstore and get copies of consumer publications that specialize in evaluating new cars and making recommendations. Consumer Reports is, IMHO, the best arranged and organized and utilizes the largest base of data.

In your stat course you studied approaches on how to collect and analyze data in meaningful ways, sampling techniques and weighting and such. If your goal is research, you’d be best served by applying the techniques you studied in stat. Your data will be much more valid and your professor will be much more impressed. Granted, it’s more work than simply trolling for opinions on forums, but yuo’ll have a more successful project.