Should I buy this car?

Hello friends,

I am planning to buy a car within the lower 3000 bracket. I am a student and would use the car for not more than 4years from now. I stay in Chico and will be travelling to the Bay Are frequently. That’s roughly 300miles on the highway. I saw this car online on Craig’s and would love to have your suggestions about the same.

http://chico.craigslist.org/cto/5252345773.html

I am an international student and I really don’t understand much about cars. Please keep your description simple.

Thanks

I don’t know anything about Hyundais but the best you can do is spend $100 and have checked over by a mechanic first. They’ll tell you what condition everything is in such as brakes, tires, engine, etc. Then you’ll know. Its a lot of miles but might be ok if you don’t drive it much.

The other thing is you have to be very careful of Craigslist. Its full of scammers so you would want to go to the motor vehicle office together and have it transferred. Just because he says he has clear title and has been inspected, doesn’t mean it actually is true.

The only thing I will add to Bing’s advice is that you need to find out when, if ever, the timing belt was serviced.
Unless there is paper proving this was done it’s an expense that needs to be done NOW.

Claims of it having been done and no paper to back the claims up should be taken to mean that it hasn’t been done.
I would at least want some knocked off the asking price if the T-belt job is needed.

Yes. the timing belt job is at least $700 and that should be in the negotiating process.

Doesn’t timing belt jobs vary with the car? I remember some guy at work saying he had his replaced on his ford for $60 (around 2001).

Yes, the cost varies by car, and many cars use chains instead of belts eliminating the cost.