Should I buy snow tires for one season?

Hello, I’m a college student in Western Mass from California. For my last year of college I decided to bring my 2007 Honda Fit Sport (FWD) from home. As winter approaches I’m deciding whether to buy snow tires. I consider myself a very safe driver (clean four year record), however, I’ve never driven in the snow. I am open to buying snow tires (all things lead me to think “better safe than sorry”), I’m just hesitant about what would happen to this big financial investment, especially considering I don’t plan on being in a snowy place next winter. Can they be resold?

I also have general questions, like where/how to buy, what happens to my current tires, what the average price for a tire change is, etc. Help out with a little 101 for a new winter driver? Thanks very much in advance.

If you plan to do much driving (like to ski) I’d get a set, go to tirerack.com and you can price out a set of 4 mounted on steel wheels. They list a set for $428 plus about $85 for shipping.

And they should be pretty easy to resell in MA.

I live in WI, and we get our fair share of snow, is fwd front wheel drive or four wheel drive? Either way we have never bought snowtires for the fwd(windstar van) or 4wd Trailblazer, or even for my 2wd toyota, etc. Sure they are great, but been living through winters since 76 without them.

In my time in the military, I’ve made many (enforced) moves into many climate changes and here are two pieces of advice to consider: