Should I buy a used Subaru?

I’m new to Subarus, but I’m thinking of buying used one. They seem light weight and perfect for getting through the ice and snow. I’m a single person with no kids and normally buy used subcompact Toyotas to save money. I’m moving to a colder climate with more ice and snow than I’m used to, and I think I should have all-wheel drive.

Do many smaller Subarus have the ability to take down the back seat? I’d like to put cross-country skiis in my car, but if I couldn’t put my skiis in the car, that’s not a deal breaker. Storage capacity is not that big of a deal.

Do Subarus have a little higher suspension than other sedans? I’m concerned about getting through the snow.

My current car would get nothing as a used car if I sold it. But it is a reliable car, so I wonder if I should just plan around the weather and stay in a great deal during the winter. After two or three years, the car will be easy to discard (e.g., it will need $2,000 of repairs).

I could spend $12,000 cash. I’d rather postpone it or pay less than that. I like fuel efficiency and low cost maintenance. I just like reliable cars to get me from point A to point B. Any recommendations?

Check the years of the subaru, many are prone to a $2k bill for head gaskets. Factor that into the price if you want one. Then get an independant analysis, might need brakes, timing belt fluid changes etc.

What is your current car? A set of 4 great winter tires can make most any FWD car handle ice and snow as deep as you’d want to tackle. I drove a FWD GTI for 12 years in Anchorage, never got stuck.

4 Likes

People in cold climates have all kinds of vehicles. Front wheel drive would probably serve you just fine. I am not a fan of buying used all wheel drive vehicles. If you don’t drive over 12000 miles a year you could consider leasing a new Subaru. At the end of lease then decide to keep it and have known history. As for room for skis you will just have to look at one.