Should I buy a diesel?

I’m looking to buy a New Beetle, I’ve always wanted one. I have two that I’m very interested in and have been trying to decide which is a better buy.

The first is a 2003 Volkswagon Beetle GLS TDI, manual, with 64,407 miles, and it’s priced at $8,987, it’s listed as getting 42 mpg city and 49 highway

The second is a 2002 Volkswagon Beetle GLS Turbo, automatic, with 50,421 miles on it, and it’s priced at $9,980, it’s listed as getting 23 mpg city and 29 highway

The other variables are that the first car is almost two hundred miles away from me, in VA (I live in NC). Also, I just started learning manual, I’m catching on fast but still pretty new to it. If I get the TDI I have the added hassle of having to go the 6 miles, 13 minutes, from home to the closest station that has diesel. I know the diesel gets better mpg and is cheaper, but is it the better buy?

Help me out, I want to make sure I make the right choice!

Owning a diesel requires a very knowledgeable car owner. They are different and any Volkswagen requires more care than your typical Japanese car.

Agree that gas prices will go up again but if you think that owning a VW diesel will reduce you overall car costs, you are wrong. The little you save on gas will be eaten up rapidly by the higher maintenance and repair costs.

If you decide to proceed, shop carefully and have a qualified mechanic check out the car you want to buy first.

I have to disagree with Docnick. Modern diesels are very little different to the owner than gasoline cars. To the mechanic they are different, but not to the owner. That is assuming the owner knows to use diesel and not gasoline.

That said, I would wonder about that 2003 TDI. That is low mileage and likely indicates the driver was running it hard, or has neglected maintenance. My 2002 NB TDI gets about 52 - 65 mpg and it has over 80,000 miles so far. I think I would skip that one, or at least have someone how knows TDI’s give it a good check.