Should I become a Diesel Mechanic

I am currently a Professional Computer Geek (PCG). I am self taught with no college education (but I still earn more than my spouse, who has 2 masters degrees in education and counseling).

I have run 2 cars on biodiesel and one on Straight Veg Oil (SVO), but I didn’t do the conversion on the SVO car (www.smarterfuel.com). I did this not for $$$ savings but to break our dependence on foreign oil and so kids don’t die and get their legs blown off far from home.

I am >45 years old, tired of what I do for a living and interested in switching careers. I am thinking of buying used diesels, fixing them up, adding SVO capability and selling them with SVO collection ‘kits’.

There is a two year evening course to become a diesel mechanic in a local trade school, but it stresses tractor trailers, boats and industrial engines. This is mostly the same with a school called UTI that is an hour away.

I recently read John Dagel’s book Diesel Engine and Fuel System Repair and I can say ‘I got it’, that is, I think I can do this. Should I spend the cash on the traditional courses, should I

1) Buy a car to work on and just give it a shot.

2) Hire a diesel mechanic to ‘train’ me.

3) Stick with being a PCG.

(If #2, any recommendations/volunteers near zip code 08618?)

None of the above.

1. Pay to go to a mechanics school
  2. Get a job working in a diesel shop

it really doesn’t matter how you learn, but you do have to be taught the ins and outs of diesel repair.

you mention two schools in your post, then they aren’t an option (at least until JEM adds them to your list?)

since you are self taught, you should realize that it took you several years, and several books to become proficient in computers. the same would apply to you taking the same route at diesel repair, it would take you several years to gain the requisite experience to go out on your own (and be successful and profitable)