Shifting into first gear from stop grinding

Hello! I am wondering what the cause maybe for when I put my car into first gear from a stop it often grinds and I can sometimes smell burning afterwards.

I am new to manuals but I don’t have this problem with any other gear but sometimes 3rd and up shakes the car dunno if its the road or something else since I’ve only been driving it for around a week. I know my transmission doesn’t have a synchro for first gear as well if that helps any. Also I flushed the clutch fluid before since the pedal was really soft.

Just ordered a new clutch slave cylinder as maybe thats the problem? Any info will help a lot. My engine has 168,880 miles on it.

If the problem were with the clutch slave cylinder, there would be hydraulic fluid leaking on the ground.

The problem is most likely with the clutch master cylinder.

The clutch master cylinder can leak internally where it doesn’t produce enough hydraulic pressure to operate the clutch fully.

The burning smell is from the clutch disk slipping, because the master cylinder isn’t providing the proper hydraulic pressure to completely release the clutch.

And if the clutch doesn’t completely release, the gears will grind when shifting.

Tester

5 Likes

Ouch! :scream_cat:
Stop doing that! Get this situation diagnosed properly and corrected or park the car and stop driving it. Smelling a clutch, brakes, automatic transmission, engine oil, etcetera, burning (or hearing grinding) … is Mother Nature’s way of telling the driver to park it! :wink:
CSA

2 Likes

That has to be a record of some kind.

3 Likes

+1
However, I understand that the 4-door Pinto wagons were also capable or racking up incredible odometer mileage.

No, not the ordinary Pinto wagons! Just the ultra-rare 4-door Pinto wagons.
:wink:

4 Likes

OP’s Mitsubishi Eclipse’s vintage is a secret but my 2002 had first gear synchromesh. The only cars newer than early 1950s I have owned or driven except British cars have had it.