Service Work at Dealership versus Third Part Repair Shops

My question is when is it best to use a Dealership for repair or when can one use a third party repair shop? I bought my Hyundai Elantra new in 2008. Originally I had it serviced at the Dealership. I then moved to a third party shop.

I just took the car in for recall work and the Dealer did a multipoint inspection, telling me that I needed to change the engine oil, carry out flushing of the transmission, power steering, cooling system and power steering. The cost from the dealer for this work would have been around $550 including sales tax. I opted to have the work done at a third party shop, which saved me around $200.

My feeling is that for fluid changes, flushing and possibly brake work, the third party shop is the best option. I would restrict work at the Dealership to that which is very specific to the manufacturer and model. Simple things like changing air filters I do myself. However, I am no expert on cars. May I please have some input from someone with more experience of car work? I have experienced that it is important to watch what is going on at the third party shop. I don’t know about the Dealership. Thank you in advance.

You have the right idea. Most repair work is generic is nature and can be handled quite easily by any independent shop – often for considerably less money.

In general, the only times I recommend using the dealer are warranty work, recalls, and puzzling problems that may be unique to your model. All else goes to the independent.

Of course, both types of shops will suggest bogus flushes and similar nonsense. That seems to be standard practice. Find a reputable shop by word of mouth and get to know the owner.

It’s six of one, half dozen of the other. Generally speaking, you will save some money with an independent shop as compared to a dealer.