Salvage title statement

Hi everybody. A month ago I bought a car, but it has a salvage title. I’m not very good at the legal part, which I later regretted. The car was repaired, and was sold in good condition with the exception of the title. I passed the state inspection, got insurance, I have to pass the autocrime inspection soon. The only thing that bothers me is that DMV was given a rebuilt vehicle statement, and I absolutely did not do any repair work on it. The DMV said that I can fill it out myself, but I do not know what details to enter and type of work, etc. My question is, how do I fill this out and how legal is it? the previous owner doesn’t get in touch and I can’t ask him

What is an Autocrime inspection and where are you located ? Don’t need exact address but it would help getting answers if people knew what country or state you are in .

Why not just put repairs unknown in the form ?

I realize this is a painful (i.e. time consuming) thing to do, but your best bet is ask this question to the DMV directly. Be prepared that they may require you to have the vehicle inspected to verify it is safe to operate, and that it has all the original emissions equipment installed. You may be able to hire your own mechanic to do this, or the DMV may require you use a mechanic they authorize. Safety, emissions, and theft are the DMV’s main concerns I expect. If everything is in order I doubt you’ll have that much of a problem – other than some frustrations – getting it registered for the road.

1 Like

George , the person has had an inspection . He is asking about something called Autocrime Inspection and has been told by the DMV that he can fill it out hisself.

The relevant portion is that it has a Salvage Title