Sad state of General Motors

I’ll start by saying I’ve been a buyer of GM vehicles for 30 years but after the experience I just had with them I wonder if they will survive.

It starts in February 2007, I brought my Trailblazer in for a warranty concern with the 4 wheel drive, it would make a grinding/chattering noise in 4WD AUTO. The dealership confirmed my concern and diagnosed sticking clutches. They said it needed a fluid change(it had 27,000 miles on it) and I would have to pay for it. I explained to them it should be done under warranty if the fluid is defective or if the clutches caused the fluid failure they should be changed with the fluid. Of course they declined to do so and I declined to have them change the fluid.

The recommended service interval for the transfer case is 50,000 miles under the severe service schedule.

I am a ASE Master Certified Tech and have have over 25 years of experience in this industry so I changed the fluid in the transfer case at 28,000 miles.

The service 4wd light came on early this last December(it has 58,000 miles now), I did some diagnostics on my own but determined I needed someone with more experience in drivetrain problems. I brought it to a GMC dealership where I had worked before and had a tech I knew and trusted diagnose the problem. He found the transfer case had failed and would need to be replaced. Cost $1900.

Remembering I had a previous issue with the transfer case I contacted GM about getting some assistance in paying for the repair. They have declined any assistance, stating first that the fluid change was not done at a “certified dealer”. I pointed out that no where in the owner’s manual does it state that sevice has to be done at a “certified dealer” The owners manual states clearly “that a person with the knowledge, tools, and equipment can perform maintenence on his own vehicle”