Saab '03

Our daughter bought a 2003 Saab 9-3 about a year ago. The CEL is frequently on and she wants to sell it because she is concerned that as soon as she fixes one thing, another needs fixing. I have no experience with Saabs; do you like this year and model? I think her “fixing” might just be normal maintenance w/ 88K miles. If she sells, she takes a hit on the cost; if she keeps, will this car need constant repairs? Thanks for your advice - I am a GM guy but you know daughters!

First the Saab is GM owned (fully).

Sadly the first year of this model design 2003 was buggy as you are finding. The latter models 2004-present are more towards average.

How does she feel? I have known a few owners with the vehicle who have had some issues in the same year but love the incredible mileage in the Linear model (turbo tuned for economy not HP) with over 35 mpg.

… she wants to sell it because she is concerned that as soon as she fixes one thing, another needs fixing.

The ultimate quandary. Do I fix it or bail? Does she bail on maintenance items, like tune-ups and oil changes? Do you even know why the CEL is on? A 5 yo used car WILL need some work. These things were never meant to be maintenance-free. Sometimes, the CEL comes on because something as simple as a gas cap not on tight enough. I’ve gotten great deals on cars with CELs on that turned out to be $10 fixes, like cracked vacuum lines, bad ignition wires, or clogged EGRs.

BTW, a lot of auto parts stores will read the CEL for free. It would be nice to know what she’s fretting about.

Saab is a GM product, so maybe you should say, “Like father, like daughter.”

The reliability of Saabs of this vintage has never been very good. They are cars for Saab lovers, who are willing to spend whatever it takes to drive, and be seen driving, a Saab.

Your daughter has to decide how important Saab ownership is to her, and then figure out what to do.