Rpm's jump up and down in first gear causing me to stall easily (manual car)

Hey guys!
I bought a 2003 BMW 320ci around 2/3 months ago. I absolutely love the car, big fan of the looks and drives great. As you would expect from a 20 year old car it does have little mechanical issues and one of them causes the rpm’s to jump up and now when i put my car into 1st gear and take my foot of the clutch pedal. at first i thought it was because I’m a relatively new manual driver so I thought I was just getting used to the car but now I know that its not normal.
The car idles perfect, no rpm change at all and its quiet. It’s only when I push it in first gear and start taking my foot of the clutch and when the car is starting to gain motion that the rpm’s start to jump up and down. Once I succesfully get into first gear and once the car is in motion with my foot off the clutch pedal, the rpm’s stop jumping and the car drives great.
The car idles at around 800rpms and the rpms jump to maybe 1100-1200 and drop below like 500 which is where it starts to stall and often stalls. I have learnt to give a little gas when pulling away so that the rpm’s don’t go too low when it jumps and drops so that it doesn’t stall but still this issue is quite annoying and i would love to fix it.
Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this? and how i could fix this?
Apart from this issue, the car drives great, no issues changing gears, it accelerates nicely, and seems to have had good maintenance.
Any help is much appreciated!

There may be a problem with accelerator pedal position sensor.

When you accelerate, this sensor sends a signal to the computer, the computer then operates the electronic throttle body.

Tester

maybe? i don’t have any check engine lights though. Also the rpm jumping happens without my foot being on the gas pedal, so not sure if there is an issue with it.