Rookie spark plug mistake

I am fairly new in working on my car. I was changing my spark plugs on my 2001 Hyundai Elantra and teaching my son how to do it as well. We changed two with no problems. However in the rush of putting on the anti seize on the new plug, we forgot to take the old one out. This bent the new plug and broke the ceramic and bent the metal tip. I was able to get most of the ceramic out but am not able to put the spark plug socket in because the tip is bent and almost touching the wall. Any advice? Thinking of a way to straighten the metal. Am destined to just break the plug and use EZ out solution? Thanks.

Please explain your situation a little more. For example, is your damaged new plug completely out of the engine? Is your old plug bent and so you cannot get a socket on it?

And for future reference, use a short piece of tubing or hose on the top of a spark plug to thread it in by hand using the tubing. Once the plug is sufficiently in, the tubing can be pulled off before using a socket. This is useful to prevent cross threading the plug, but in your case, it would have prevented whatever happened between the new and old plug.

And I will let others discuss the pros/cons of using anti-seize on plugs.

Bend or break off what’s left of the old plug so a socket can get on the hex.

Tester

3 Likes

Thanks for a quick response. The problem is the old plug is bent and still in the engine. The new plug tip is bent so I plan to get a new one.

Then I’m generally with Tester’s suggestion but you should be careful to get ALL pieces and debris out before finally using a socket to get out whatever is left of the old plug.

Hopefully, your first two plugs came out easy and so will this one.

Pictures worth a thousand words right? I thought I submit it before taking action. Thanks

Just wondering what is the best way to break this.