Right hand drive vehicle -- need advice

I’m just starting a job as a rural carrier for the post office and am told I need to drive my own vehicle, but need to make it drivable from the right hand side.

My options:

* There are kits for doing this (add pedals to the right side and/or add steering and pedals to the right side).

* Or I could sell my personal car and buy a right hand drive vehicle.

I currently own a Scion xA and love it.

The hatchback is perfect for my lifestyle: I am a graduate student with a pet-sitting business where I move every week or so.

I love the gas mileage of the Scion (31 in town and 38 highway).

I also like having a back seat because I babysit my sister’s kids.

The problems with the xA are:

* The bucket seats in front with the shifter on the floor. For delivering mail, a bench seat is best so that I can drive from the right side of the car.

* I don’t want to bang up the car – I’ve heard that the mailboxes doors often bang up the side of the car.

I love the size of the Scion xA – perfect for getting in to small spaces.

Traction may not be so good. While it is front-wheel drive, it is a lightweight car and no side impact air bags.

I live in Illinois, where the terrain is mostly flat. Lots of deer though.

IF your car is paid for, why not keep it for when you’re not delivering mail, and buy a RHD for your route? This would probably work out best since you won’t be tearing up your xA as much with the stop and go, and what happens if you just drive your xA on your route and you either hit a deer, or something goes wrong with it?

Many Star and rural letter carriers use RHD Subarus. My wife did a Star route for 7 years and Subarus provided the lowest operating cost per mile…RHD conversion parts are available from UK countries. There are underground mechanics who specialize in this work. These are things you don’t mention to the DMV or your insurance company…

I have two recommendations: