Replacing an A/C compressor in a 2000 Toyota Camry

I’ve been told that my A/C compressor needs replacing, the cost of which comes to around $1000 - 1200. Is this the kind of job that I, with the right tools and the parts can do myself? I’ve worked on cars before - back in the 80’s granted - and have common sense etc. but acknowledge that I’m only an enthusiastic amateur. Does this require special tools and instruments to make sure all is assembled/lined up/etc. properly, belts tight enough, a degree in computer science or anything else beyond the range of a good socket set, torque wrench and all the other basics? Do I just need the compressor itself or are there other related parts that need replacing at the same time?

Thanks - David Miller

go to rockauto.com and price out the compressor and everything else. you can do this yourself, but can opt to have help with the final steps, like recharging the empty/new system. if you are not good and installation, then you could potentially have leaks at the connections. which you will wish you just paid the pros.

but if you are good and replacement of existing parts, this is nothing to shy away from…except maybe the recharge part as that requires a strong vaccuum first with some sort of device, before refilling the R34 ect. I’d say go for it.

It depends in what manner the compressor failed.

If the clutch bearing on the compressor failed, then it’s just a matter of replacing the compressor and then drawing a vacuum on the system and rechaging the system.