Repair a slew of expensive problems vs. engine rebuild?

So I have a 2001 Honda Civic with a blown head gasket, probably a warped head, an old timing belt in need of changing, some issues with the coolant tank, and maaaybe untold issues from the over heating that caused the blown head gasket. It’s getting kinda expensive, around $1800 and I’m just a college student so what I was wondering was if it was worth paying the extra couple hundred to get a rebuilt engine instead. Would it save money in the long run or should I just fix these things and trust the honda engine?

I don’t know much about cars, so listen to everybody else first…but I’m pretty sure if you’ve blown a head gasket, the time to “trust the honda engine” is past.

Have you priced rebuilt and/or remanufactured engines for your car?

Mileage on the Civic??

I’d probably go with the new engine if you can find one in that price range with a warranty of some kind. Bear in mind that the timing belt/water pump on the replacement engine should be replaced as well if it’s a used engine.

The bottom end of Honda motors are usually solid, so a new head and gasket should be fine. But, if the motor has close to 200K on it, and/or if it using and burning oil then piston rings could be worn and new bearings wouldn’t hurt.

The answer to your question goes back to the condition of the motor before the overheating problems. If you can get a properly done rebuilt motor for around $500 more than the repair, then go for a rebuilt if you can afford it.

If, indeed (not just probably), you have a warped head, kiss this engine goodbye. Once one of these engines overheats, it’s time to let it go and replace it.

Once you consider the price of a rebuilt engine, it might be easier to just let go of the whole car and replace it (or just let it go).